top of page

The Dumpsite


At around 1850hrs, bushed, voracious and trying to stay lucid from the heat energy happening in this country, I took the last seat at the back of the bus. Lost in thoughts, I constantly kept smiling and fanning my face as if that was making a difference. I was having a good time alright?

It did not take long before this Matatu driver who seemed to have watched a lot of “Fast and Furious” and was relentless about testing his skills brought me back to reality. He forgot he was not carrying bags of shoes or potatoes that don’t mind how rough you hit bumps. For real though, I could have flown out the ceiling if not the door.

Earlier that day, I had experienced an event where I almost fainted willingly because of the unscrupulous stink that erupted from the Matatu I was in. It was a waft of urine on cushion that had undergone the right passage of the Nairobi sun combined with a mix of sweat, onions and a bunch of feet not to mention a peculiar someone who seemed to enjoy njugu!

Anyway the reality of that event came to mind when I realized a reoccurrence in this other Matatu. Twice in one day? Peace Be Still my nose was not enough. I could not tell whether someone had carried rotten fish or something had died in that bus.

So I am seated there one hand tightly grabbing the seat in front because the driver was still acting Van diesel and I was not interested in flying, while my other hand covered my nose. No one seemed bothered actually except the person seated next to me who began a conversation after seeing the distress I was going through. I managed to smile through it - I promise; I even wrote a poem about it in my head. It was hysterical.

Then it dawned on me, we are too quick in making sure the physical is sparkly, checking whose isn’t yet you could be living your best life wearing the best of designer perfumes, traveling the world but in your spirit you are a sordid stench.

It gets to a point where you become like a dumpsite - the only things that hang around you are flies. Slowly, you rot away.

Imagine this, if God was to board your bus would he be covering his nose all the while or enjoying a conversation with you? Some of us he would probably need a bag to vomit in because of just how careless we have been.

One of the things that will make you A Dumpsite is:

Pride

- You can’t and won’t be corrected In fact anyone who corrects you is against you, they are jealous of you. You are always finding faults in what does not concern you. You are so full of yourself to the extent where you disregard every other person - You don’t do it publicly but in your heart you have created labels. I, the LORD, search the heart; I test the mind to reward a man according to his way, by what his deeds deserve.

For a Christian, who is under leadership and you can’t be corrected because of how quickly you get offended - you are on a high horse that is about to break your legs if not your back.

Some Of US,

We treat people so badly, that if you told them you are saved they would wonder which God is this you serve. Your life does not inspire anyone closer to God instead it draws them further. You are a broken record judging every one with studs and ragged jeans.

You are the Google analytic that knows and always has an opinion about things that are really none of your business. Who made you the judge?

You have become Bitter and unforgiving - everyone around you suddenly can't be trusted!

C’mon People

How are you living your life? How do you want God to do for you what you won’t do for others? You have become a stench clothed in religion you have forgotten too quickly if it were not for the mercies of YAWHEH you would not have become.

Others,

Have neglected what it meant to dwell in the secret place of the most high. You live and walk in the flesh and go telling people “The Lord showed me… Oh Thus saith the lord…” You have made the house of the Lord as a den of thieves!

You don’t spend time in his presence, don’t seek his face and YET you want to enjoy the goodness of the lord in the land of the living

Stench!

But which of them has stood in the council of the LORD to see and hear His word? Who has given heed to His word and obeyed it?

HOW ARE YOU LIVING YOUR LIFE? - I ASK AGAIN

Salvation is not an escape where you go live life how you chose, Lie, gossip and expect a crown of Gold! WAKE UP!

Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you workers of lawlessness!’

It is a place of HUMILITY, SURRENDER, WORK, OBEDIENCE, and most importantly HOLINESS!

We have come to the hour where WE have to change. Where are you?

Surely,

16 These six things doth the Lord hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him:

17 A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,

18 An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief,

19 A false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.

Are you a walking stench? Where is God in Your Life?

Let your spirit smell and sparkle as nice as the physical. Don’t lose your soul chasing things that make you a dumpsite.

Come out from amongst them and Be Ye Separate!

Please God...

Live life, enjoy it but don't forget

Search me, God, and know my heart;

Test me and know my anxious thoughts.

See if there is any offensive way in me,

And lead me in the way everlasting.

bottom of page