top of page

Strange Spaces

Most often than not, the wave comes like that riling muscle pull that always seems to have the impudence to show up in the most obstinate places. Everything enthuses the storm. It could be just how neatly books are arranged, or, just how silent the wind is, or an outlandish scent, a song, trees, words or the artless fact that I sat in silence too long. Anything, really! Even the stones become beautiful in the moment. A gift that only the note app in my phone can testify of, because sometimes - well - most times, I have a few excuses as to why I won’t sit and tell the tales. In that sequence, I have realized great pieces are always birthed out of an emotion, and that my friends, is what makes me dance. Manuscripts dawned from simple thoughts that become my masterpieces of written art tucked away in my note app.

The random ambuscades of striking art in my brain has had me thinking about God. Hear me out, in the most incongruous places, especially in the middle of chaos and unpleasant situations, I will suddenly smile sheepishly, if you are lucky, I will giggle and do a small twirl because of the elegiac word that just hit my brain. The riveting thoughts then take me in deep places that will always have me yelp - whoaaaa!

The array reminds me of a simple fact that the most distinctive, picturesque things in life are manifested in the same way - its like another random muscle pull that just pulls up while you are nonchalantly enjoying lunch.

Sometimes we humans like to strategize about life, and breakthroughs. You probably have thought it over, decided which dress or pants you will be wearing when it comes, planned, thought about how you will feel when it does and yet, it’s not come. The light at the end of the tunnel seems dimmer each time you “peak a boo.” You are this close to turning in the towel. Before you do, listen to me, the simplicity of a truth, which you decided to look over and forget in Isaiah 55: 8-9 is your way out.

His ways are not your ways; His thoughts are not your thoughts

So, has the breakthrough not come or were you too busy clouded in anxiety and worry such that when the mail popped up in a different name, color and ethnicity the familiar voice in your head said, Nah, this isn’t it. So, you trashed it!

In the busiest streets, and gaudiest of rooms lies what does not meet the eye. It most likely is unfamiliar - dressed contrarily, smells a bit too strong and is the strangest thing you have ever thought of.

STOP. LISTEN and PAY ATTENTION

Come out of your head, breath out.

That "kibandasky" might just be where he is waiting, just LISTEN…

bottom of page