top of page

Let's Talk Character...

Well,

Apart from the many scents fanning off people when it rains, there are these special species of humans who enter matatus waving their umbrellas as if to insist on the fact that you may be in need of another shower or a fresh baptism altogether. What did we ever do to you?

The other day I boarded this Matatu and with such gallantry and discipline apologizing for every small drop of water that threatened to fall on people all the way to the back seat. With a seat left beside me, I wasn’t too keen on looking who boarded the next stop until I felt a loch of water on my leg and into my shoe, which prompted my head to turn and see if the Matatu had suddenly developed a hole. This lady had decided that I was the best avenue for her to shake off the excess water from her umbrella even my terrifying mad expression on my face did not prompt her to whisper a simple apology. I thought my eyes were wide enough to communicate my irritation but she went on and smiled!

So I let it go - I mean people make mistakes right? Only for her to decide my shoe needed a little bit of soaking two nanoseconds later just when I was beginning to gain some warmth. Have you ever just looked at someone and thought to tell them, to tell whoever sent them, you won’t find me! I was more irritated than mad now at the ignorance of the human species in this country. I went on to wipe away the flood in my shoe. When someone alighted and she moved seats, I was more than elated. HAPPY INDEPENCE DAY FOR ME! No more slavery!

I settled in my seat more comfortably, and enjoyed the morning sunrise. Lost in my own world, I didn’t realize the matatu stop until I saw someone stuck at the entrance wondering how to get to the seat next to me considering the fact that she had a wet umbrella and a large back pack. Algebra was needed!

When I looked at her, I mouthed to myself, this lady is different! I literally spoke to myself loudly three times. There was something alluring and striking about her!! From the way she carried herself - she was unusually kind and careful. We didn’t have a conversation, in fact I was on earphones but I kept cheerful while I watched her. There was something Distinctive and Unusual about her!

Before she sat down, I had quickly moved my leg to the far corner just incase there was a mistaken identity for another baptism. No thanks. Funny enough she held her wet umbrella to her chest just so she doesn’t splash water! I told you something was different about this one! At some point I did offer to hold her umbrella because that water was not healthy at all. She was a breath of fresh air… I mean I couldn’t stop thinking “ She is different”.

Compared to what - you may ask, that’s the thing - I was not comparing her to a particular character no! She was JUST DIFFERENT

Fast forward to a few minutes to her next stop. I had forgotten about her for a while as I was carried away in worship. The presence of God was so thick I was quivering and mumbling tongues silently. Then I turned and looked at her and would you believe I had not noticed she was pregnant and in her hands, she held a bible, which she seemed to be reading keenly. Now I was more fascinated! She did alight and that’s when the Holy Spirit began ministering to me about character.

Look at the character of God. When the spirit of God comes, you will know why? There is a form of aura and character that comes with him. LOVE. PEACE. JOY. PATIENCE. KINDNESS. GENTLENESS. SELF CONTROL.

Same case when the demonic is made manifest there is ANGER. PRIDE. ARROGANCE. SADNESS. BITTERNESS… ETC

Infact, my father goes on to say there are some spiritual gifts that can’t be bestowed on you until you have CHARACTER!

Think about this,

Maybe, people are mean to you because you are mean to other people and that’s the aura you inspire

Maybe things are not working out because you have become so bitter about everything and everyone.

Maybe you are not getting that job because you carry a spirit of Rejection that has become your character..

Have you ever come across people who you stay close to them and you are engulfed by sadness or anger? It makes me want to address the fact of "Music and Mental Health".

Music will either usher you into the presence of God or into the pits of hell - should i write about this?

Anyway,

Your character can not be built outside the secret place. Don't allow Motivation books lie to you!

Under the feet of JESUS is where you will find truth. The longer you stay in the secret place the more you will mimic the character of the Lord JESUS.

She may not be saved but i can tell you for a fact her ears have been inclined to the character of God. Why?Her mere presence came with specific characters like Kindness and calmness. You could differentiate her from everyone else even without talking to her.

What about you?

What does type of presence do you carry around?

To be honest, she challenged me to want to be better!The simple fact that she spoke silently without being aware is absolutely humbling

You will often manifest who you listen to or hang around often. That’s how character is built up subconsciously. That explains why some people who are close to each other almost sound the same.

This month of May, purpose to build you - Character will keep you where your mouth can't speak for you

A Habit will Create A Character and A Character will ALWAYS Be Accompanied by an aura.

I want to inspire The God Character when i walk in a room

Until someone can seat next to me and laugh for no reason, I have a long journey

What about you?

What does your presence Inspire?

bottom of page