top of page

Discovering New Places


Images taken by self

Let's be honest, most of our Sundays are centred either around going to church or sleeping all day or if you are lucky, family day. What started as a casual Sunday filled with expectations and ambiguity turned out to be one of the most enthusing days I had. It gave me a longing to keep discovering!

We casually drove along Thika road to Sagana to meet the one man that has fathered me to date. All this was in pursuit of having a good day family Sunday amongst other things. One thing about my father is he has never made a wrong decision when it comes to dining options for as long as I have known him. How one prepares fish is an art and when you find a place that has perfected that art one is inclined to try it out. Nokras Riverine Hotel & Spa aside from their fish making skills, it is the epitome of beauty.

I know we tend to think that weekends are for staying in but weekends are the best ways to discover new places with your loved ones. Nokras Riverine & Spa should be your new stop! The hotel is ideally located along Murang' a - Sagana road. It is 90 kilometres from Nairobi along Muranga -Sagana road, only 1.5 Kilometers from Sagana town and 8 km from Muranga town.

It is a hidden gem that has utilised its vast space, and you can get a little work out in as you tour the facility. The reception has been artistically designed with this beautiful aura that gathers around the entire room, calming every bit of your nerves. The gardens are incredible, and you can carry a book and enjoy flipping through those pages.

So we walk into a beautiful garden with what seemed like a stage set for a live band- they were not playing yet! Opposite the garden was one large swimming pool and various dining options. The beauty of having a lot of space is the fact that you get a lot of options. I have always liked the idea of seeing how my food is prepared, their open plan kitchen catered to that. The facility is self-sustaining it has a set place for freshly made juice and the Magunas supermarket.

Where to eat and what to eat are the most critical questions. I already gave you a sneak preview so of course, we ordered the fish. We were served on time, and that is a plus on my end. The plating of the fish was as beautifully prepared as the fish. Every bite of the fish fillet took me on a journey of flavours that were made for each other. I had my fish with mashed potatoes, but I tasted my sister's fried potatoes and had some regret about my accompaniment. Incase you are wondering whether you need to rob a bank to dine here, the plate was Ksh, 1, 800 only! More reason why you need to make this trip. It is mango season, and it would have been a mistake not to try their mango juice. It lived up to the expectation, fresh juice is supposed to sing to you, and this one did exactly that.

Nokras is environmentally friendly, and it is also the perfect place to take your kids to unwind. They have a whole kids playground setup, from the water slides to the swings, merry go rounds, swimming pool and other activities that you would like them to discover. This is the best way to tire them out to avoid a lot of the 'I am bored' conversations.

Do not worry; they have not forgotten adult playtime. They have a huge well-stocked bar that is only open from Thursday to Saturday. Who said one can’t enjoy nature when they are sipping their favourite glass of something? Listen to the rushing Sagana river and enjoy its view. Enjoy your own little paradise on earth.

Let us discover new places together, tell me of the most amazing places you would like me to try for our next fun day..

Images Courtesy Of Self

bottom of page